top of page

Feng Shui within PhiliShui

Chinese words for wind and water are "feng" and "shui". This idea is based on an ancient poem about how human life flows with the environment.

Feng Shui is the practice of placing pieces in living spaces to achieve harmony with the natural world. It is a way to harness energy and create harmony between people and their environment.

This philosophy is known in Asian culture as the Tao. It literally means "the way". Taoism refers to the way of the natural world and all of the fundamental principles of feng shui are based on it. The essential principles of feng shui are the commanding position and the Bagua.

The commanding position in a room is the one that is farthest away from the door, but not directly in line with it. This position places you diagonally to the door. You should aim to have a clear line from the door.

The commanding position is the place where you will spend most of your time in the room. Feng Shui guidelines recommend that you identify the dominant position in the room and then align your bed, desk or stove diagonally if possible. Each of these three elements of your home is important as they each represent an essential part your life. The bed is your identity, the desk your professional career, and your wealth and food are represented by the stove.

The Bagua is a feng-shui energy map that is superimposed onto the floor plan of your house. The Chinese term " Bagua", which means " eight areas," refers to a life situation such as wealth, family, or career. Each of these areas have corresponding shapes, colors and seasons. The ninth area of the Bagua is you. It represents your overall wellbeing.

There are many schools of feng-shui thought. They all use Baguas to analyze your home. However, they may use the Baguas in different ways. The Bagua is usually laid by the Western and BTB schools (Black Sect) so that the areas of knowledge, career and help are aligned with the front door. The Bagua may be oriented by the Flying Stars or other classical schools based on the year's energy or the compass.

The Taoist tradition reveals the five elements -earth (metal), water (water), wood (wood), and fire. Five interrelated phases of life are called the elements. They work together to form a system. Feng shui is a practice that balances these five elements in your home as well as each of your life areas.

You decide where you want your energy to be directed in order to incorporate the elements into your life and home. You choose one to three areas in your life that you wish to improve, much like the Bagua. You can then improve your energy and the energy of your home by using the colors or shapes suggested in each room.

It is clear that the Asian culture have used its principles to design their homes for more than four thousand years. The placement of ancient Chinese graves is one example of early feng-shui. These were areas where positive chi was important. People all over the globe use feng-shui rules to decorate homes. Feng shui rules include where to put items near doors and windows. Chi can pass through these openings. It is easiest to alter feng shui within a room by adding or moving one of five elements: water, fire, earth and metal. These five elements can be applied to all materials. Practitioners believe that mixing, combining or subtracting these items can improve positive chi flow.

PhiliShui combines the practices of both Biophilic Design and Feng Shui.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Explore the Collection

bottom of page